Monday, August 15, 2022
HomeSports2022 SEC women's basketball awards announced

2022 SEC women’s basketball awards announced

4 days ago
SEC Staff

Photo: Southeastern Conference

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (March 1, 2022) — The Southeastern Conference announced its 2022 women’s basketball postseason awards Tuesday.

South Carolina’s Aliyah Boston was named Player of the Year as well as Defensive Player of the Year. This is Boston’s third straight Defensive Player of the Year award. She was also named Freshman of the Year in 2020.

Arkansas’ Samara Spencer was named Freshmen of the Year with the 6th Woman of the Year award going to Ole Miss’ Angel Baker. Georgia’s Mikayla Coombs was named Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

South Carolina’s Dawn Staley was named Coach of the Year. This is Staley’s fifth SEC Coach of the Year honor.

First-team and second-team All-SEC honorees, All-Freshman team, All-Defensive team, along with Player, Coach and Freshman, Defensive Player, 6th Player and Scholar-Athlete of the Year were chosen by the league’s 14 coaches.

The complete 2022 SEC Women’s Basketball Postseason Awards follow.

First Team All-SEC

Kiara Smith, Florida

Jenna Staiti, Georgia

Rhyne Howard, Kentucky

Khayla Pointer, LSU

Shakira Austin, Ole Miss

Aliyah Boston, South Carolina

Destanni Henderson, South Carolina

Jordan Horston, Tennessee

Second Team All-SEC

Brittany Davis, Alabama

Amber Ramirez, Arkansas

Aicha Coulibaly, Auburn

Que Morrison, Georgia

Alexis Morris, LSU

Anastasia Hayes, Mississippi State

Aijha Blackwell, Missouri

Hayley Frank, Missouri

Zia Cooke, South Carolina

Tamari Key, Tennessee


Samara Spencer, Arkansas

Jersey Wolfenbarger, Arkansas

Alberte Rimdal, Florida

Jada Walker, Kentucky

Denae Carter, Mississippi State

Sara Puckett, Tennessee

Sacha Washington, Vanderbilt

Iyana Moore, Vanderbilt


Kiara Smith, Florida

Que Morrison, Georgia

Aliyah Boston, South Carolina

Tamari Key, Tennessee

Jordyn Cambridge, Vanderbilt

Player of the Year – Aliyah Boston, South Carolina

Freshman of the Year – Samara Spencer, Arkansas

Defensive Player of the Year – Aliyah Boston, South Carolina

6th Woman of the Year – Angel Baker, Ole Miss

Scholar-Athlete of the Year – Mikayla Coombs, Georgia

Coach of the Year – Dawn Staley, South Carolina



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular